Emerald diamond rings pink tourmaline rings


Gemstone Clarity - Type III Gemstones

(Includes: Emerald, Pink Tourmaline, Rubellite (red) Tourmaline)

Gemstones: Type I | Type || | Type III | Diamond Grading

Clarity grading of gemstones is not standardized within the gemstone trade industry.  Only diamonds have an internationally established grading system that all jewelers follow.  Gemstone dealers and retailers do, however, grade their own gemstones using standardized diamond grading terms in order to convey the clarity attributes. Although the terms are the same, it is important to note that the clarity grade definitions are slightly different for gemstones and diamonds. clarity grading has become increasingly important for the sales of gemstones and gemstone jewelry via the internet where customers cannot see the gemstones in person.

The clarity grade is based on the number and visibility of inclusions which affect a gemstone's beauty and durability. Some gemstones naturally tend to have more inclusions than others.  For this reason, clarity ranges for gemstones are grouped into three types: Type I, Type II, and Type III. Type I stones are usually eye-clean with no inclusions visible to the naked eye. Type II stones typically show some eye-visible inclusions that don't detract from the gem's overall beauty. Type III stones are almost always included and show eye-visible inclusions.

MyJewelrySource.com has adopted the clarity grading definitions in the table below which we have found to be most commonly used among gemstone dealers and internet retailers. All gemstones are graded in natural daylight or a fluorescent equivalent per the Gemological Institute Of America (GIA) grading recommendations. You will see that we only use gemstones that are of the highest clarity.  Each gemstone used in our jewelry is hand picked for its exceptional clarity and beauty.

Type III Gemstone Grading Table
(Includes: Emerald, Pink Tourmaline, Rubellite (red) Tourmaline)
Clarity Grade
VVS1+ Top Gem Quality Note: We added this extra category since most of our pink tourmalines far exceed the general industry standard for a VVS1 classification for a type III gemstone.
Gemstones are better than eye clean (i.e., have no visible inclusions) and have very few microscopic inclusions which are difficult to moderately difficult to detect under a 10x magnification loupe.
VVS1 Extremely Fine Quality Gemstones are eye clean. Inclusions are easy to see using a 10X magnification loupe.
VVS2 Extremely Fine Quality Gemstones may have very minute visible inclusions. Inclusions are easy to see using a 10X magnification loupe.
VS1 Very Fine Quality Minute inclusions which are somewhat visible to the inspection of the naked eye. The beauty of the gem is not diminished in anyway.  Inclusions are easy to see using a 10X loupe.
VS2 Fine Quality Obvious inclusions that are easy to see using a 10X magnification loupe, and definitely visible to the naked eye.
SI1 Good Quality The inclusions are large and numerous using a 10X magnification loupe, and prominent with the naked eye
SI2 Medium to Good Quality. The inclusions are large and numerous using a 10X magnification loupe, and very prominent with the naked eye.
I1, 12 &1 3
(also SI3)
Medium to Lower Quality
Included gems with numerous internal flaws that are easily visible to the naked eye. Flaws will have a negative effect on the overall appearance of the gemstone.  Generally, gemstones with I1, I2 or I3 grades are only used in commercial or mass produced jewelry and not in fine jewelry.

For diamond clarity grading information:: Click Here

Back to Top